Module 1: Introduction to Dementia
Module 2: Dementia Stages and Assessment
Module 3: Behavioral Symptoms and Non-Pharmacological Therapies
Module 4: Palliative Care and Medication Use in Dementia Care
Module 5: Dementia and Caregiving
1 of 2

2.1 Dementia Stages and Assessment

As dementia worsens, a person will eventually require assistance to perform daily
activities. The type of support and how quickly it is needed will vary, as dementia affects
everyone differently.
It may be helpful to know that dementia has three stages:

  • Early-stage
  • Middle stage
  • Late-stage

Because of how much they influence a person, these stages are commonly referred to as mild, moderate, and severe.
Knowing about these stages can help carers and people with dementia plan for the future and understand how their illness may affect their lives.
Additionally, the stages serve as a reference for when specific therapies, like medications for Alzheimer’s disease, are most likely to be effective.

Notify of
0 Discussions
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Post a comment

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Would love your thoughts, please comment.x